Log in

Paterson returns as Australian Men's Sevens confirm line-up for Seville

Fri, 28/01/2022, 1:57 am
Nathan Williamson
by Nathan Williamson
Members of the Australian Sevens visited the Australian Pavilion at Dubai Expo while at the Sevens World Series

Australian Men's coach John Manenti has named a relatively settled line-up for the fourth round of the World Series in Seville.

Henry Paterson is the lone change to the side which finished fourth in Malaga, coming in for Jed Stuart.

Catch all the World Series action on World Rugby's digital channels. Click here to access

Henry Hutchinson will once again captain the side, joined by Malaga Impact Player of the Tournament Corey Toole, Josh Turner, Stu Dunbar and Maurice Longbottom.

“We played some fantastic Rugby last weekend in Malaga, where at times we seemed unstoppable in our attack," Manenti said in a statement.

“As the team continues to spend more time together, we are continuing to build on our consistency, and that will be a big piece on ensuring we are a regular finisher at the top of the tournament ladder.

“This weekend, we will welcome Henry Paterson back to the World Series fold. Henry has been a big component of the men’s program for the last 18 months, and I’m excited to see him return to the World Series.”


MOTIVATED: Bell eager to impress

CO-CAPTAIN: McDermott, Wright to lead Reds

TRIAL: Lonergan named captain for Waratahs trial

Australia will open their account against Kenya on Saturday January 29 (12:59am AEDT), looking to back up their narrow win in Dubai, undefeated in nine of their past 10 games against the Kenyans heading back to Singapore in 2017.

They will then face Scotland (7:07 pm) and Canada (Sunday 12:35 am) to round out Pool D as they attempt to solidify their top three ranking in the World Sevens.

All the games will be live and free in Australia via world.rugby, World Rugby YouTube and the World Rugby Sevens Series Facebook page.

Australian Men's Sevens Side for Seville

  1. Henry Hutchison (c), 35 caps
  2. Solomone Vosaicake, 3 caps
  3. Corey Toole, 3 caps
  4. Dietrich Roache, 3 caps
  5. Yool Yool, 3 caps
  6. Darby Lancaster, 1 cap
  7. Josh Turner, 9 caps
  8. Ben Dowling, 3 caps
  9. Stu Dunbar, 4 caps
  10. Chris Kuridrani, 1 cap
  11. Maurice Longbottom, 22 caps
  12. Nathan Lawson, 1 cap
  13. Henry Paterson, 2 caps

Australian Men’s Sevens Seville Pool D Fixtures: 

Saturday 29 January 

Australia v Kenya, 12:59am AEDT

Australia v Scotland, 7:07pm AEDT 

Sunday 30 January 

Australia v Canada, 12:35am AEDT 


Latest News

Burey to debut as Men's side is confirmed for Toulouse
Two changes to Women's Sevens side as they look to finish on a high
Levis in style with sister act set for Sevens in Toulouse
The Australian Women's Sevens have claimed the World Title in Langford | World Rugby
Australian Women’s Sevens claim World Series crown in Langford

Aussie 7s are proud part of Rugby AU

© 2021 Rugby Australia. All rights reserved. Part of the Rugby Network