Log in

Australian Women's Sevens announce Malaga squad as they hunt for three-peat

Thu, 20/01/2022, 9:38 pm
Nathan Williamson
by Nathan Williamson
Australia faced off against Oceania at day three of the Oceania Sevens at Queensland Country Bank Stadium.

Tim Walsh has confirmed the Australian Women's squad for the third round of the World Sevens Series in Malaga.

There are two changes to the team that went unbeaten through Dubai, with Bienne Terita in line for her debut.

Catch all the World Series action on World Rugby's digital channels. Click here to access

Along with this, Cassie Staples makes her return to the side, set for her first appearance since Sydney 2020.

Demi Hayes will continue in her captaincy of the Women's sides as they look to build on their 12-game winning streak, unbeaten since their Olympic quarter-final exit in July.

The event will mark the return of Walsh to the women's program which he guided to Olympic gold in 2016, making the switch with John Manenti from the men's side.

"As a coach I pride myself on preparing my teams in a way that collectively provides individuals and the team every opportunity to perform at their best," Walsh said in a statement.

“We have 14 players here in Spain and two more in Sydney preparing for rounds three and four of the HSBC World Series.

“The team is in a great space following the Dubai tournament wins and a Christmas rejuvenation, while this weekend we will see Bienne Terita awarded her first World Series cap and the team again lead by the ever-impressive Demi Hayes."


BUILDING: Godwin impressed by Force recruits

COMPETITION: Swain embracing lock battles

RETURN TO FIJI: Drua confirm Suva match

The World Series leaders will open their account against replacement side Belgium on Friday January 21 (8:50 pm AEDT) before facing Ireland (Saturday 5:35 AM) to round out the day.

This will be followed by facing hosts Spain (8:50 pm) to complete Pool A as they attempt to achieve three straight titles for the first time since 2015-16.

All Australian matches will be live and free in Australia via the World Rugby YouTube and World Rugby Sevens Facebook page.

Australian Women’s Sevens Team for Malaga, 21-22 January

  1. Lily Dick, 7 caps
  2. Cassie Staples, 12 caps
  3. Faith Nathan, 6 caps
  4. Dominique Du Toit, 17 caps
  5. Bienne Terita, *
  6. Alysia Lefau-Fakaosilea, 2 caps
  7. Charlotte Caslick, 35 caps
  8. Madison Ashby, 7 caps
  9. Tia Hinds, 2 caps
  10. Sariah Paki, 12 caps
  11. Demi Hayes, 14 caps
  12. Maddison Levi, 2 caps
  13. Jakiya Whitfeld, 2 caps


Latest News

Australia dominate World Rugby Dream Team
Aussie Women fall valiantly in Toulouse Cup Final
Burey to debut as Men's side is confirmed for Toulouse
Two changes to Women's Sevens side as they look to finish on a high

Aussie 7s are proud part of Rugby AU

© 2021 Rugby Australia. All rights reserved. Part of the Rugby Network