Touch 7s

How to play
Seven simple steps on how to play Touch 7s

You need seven (7) players (male, female or mixed) per team.


It's touch only.


You’re allowed seven touches to score before handing the ball to the opposition.


When touched you can either pass to a teammate within two seconds, take two steps or perform a ball place while defenders stand five metres back.


When the ball goes over the sideline, a quick throw back takes place.


Kicking is allowed depending on the age group and skill level.


A turnover occurs if the attacking team drops the ball forward, passes forward or uses up their seven touches.

To download the full list of laws click here.

Australia Sevens Crest

Aussie 7s are proud part of Rugby AU

© 2023 Rugby Australia. All rights reserved. Part of the Rugby Network