Log in

Williams headlines changes as Australian Women's Sevens prepare for Seville

Fri, 28/01/2022, 1:58 am
Nathan Williamson
by Nathan Williamson
Members of the Australian Sevens visited the Australian Pavilion at Dubai Expo while at the Sevens World Series

Sharni Williams will make her return for the fourth round of the World Rugby Sevens as Australian Women's Sevens confirm their side for Seville.

Williams missed the Malaga leg of the Series, with Tim Walsh's side falling in the semi-finals to Russia before claiming the bronze medal after overcoming France.

Catch all the World Series action on World Rugby's digital channels. Click here to access

She is joined in the squad by Rhiannon Byers and Dubai debutant Tegan Levi, replacing Cassie Staples, Bienne Terita and Jakiya Whitfeld respectively.

Malaga Dream Team members Maddison Levi and Alysia Lefau-Fakaosilea retain their spots in the side after standout tournaments, joined by current World Series impact player Charlotte Caslick.

Demi Hayes will once again lead the side as Australia looks to extend their 10 point lead over France on top of the World Sevens Series standings.

"We have the benefit of bolstering our team with a player who will become the equal most capped player in the history of women’s sevens, Sharni Williams," coach Tim Walsh said in a statement.

"Her addition has provided a real edge to our Seville preparation.

“Last week we played well, and the team supported some brilliant individual growth and performances, but this week we want to be better."


MOTIVATED: Bell eager to impress

CO-CAPTAIN: McDermott, Wright to lead Reds

TRIAL: Lonergan named captain for Waratahs trial

Australia will begin their tournament against Belgium on Friday January 28 (11:50 pm AEDT), who made their first appearance on the Sevens circuit last week in Malaga.

This will be followed by a clash against Spain (Saturday 6:03 am), who the Aussies have held scoreless in each of their past five meetings, including last week's 20-0 win in the group stages.

They will round out Pool C against France in a rematch of the bronze medal final as the top two teams of the 2021-22 Series battle for supremacy.

All the games will be live and free in Australia via world.rugby, World Rugby YouTube and the World Rugby Sevens Series Facebook page.

Australian Women’s Sevens Team for Seville

  1. Lily Dick, 8 caps
  2. Sharni Williams, 37 caps
  3. Faith Nathan, 7 caps
  4. Dominique Du Toit, 18 caps
  5. Rhiannon Byers, 7 caps
  6. Alysia Lefau-Fakaosilea, 3 caps
  7. Charlotte Caslick, 36 caps
  8. Madison Ashby, 8 caps
  9. Tia Hinds, 3 caps
  10. Sariah Paki, 13 caps
  11. Demi Hayes, 15 caps
  12. Maddison Levi, 3 caps
  13. Teagan Levi, 1 cap

Australian Women’s Sevens Seville Pool C Fixtures: 

Friday 28 January 

Australia v Belgium, 11:50pm AEDT

Saturday 29 January 

Australia v Spain, 6:03am AEDT

Australia v France, 11:41pm AEDT 


Latest News

Australia dominate World Rugby Dream Team
Aussie Women fall valiantly in Toulouse Cup Final
Burey to debut as Men's side is confirmed for Toulouse
Two changes to Women's Sevens side as they look to finish on a high

Aussie 7s are proud part of Rugby AU

© 2021 Rugby Australia. All rights reserved. Part of the Rugby Network