Women lock in experienced squad as Australia Paris Olympics team confirmed

Wed, Jul 3, 2024, 2:24 AM
Nathan Williamson
by Nathan Williamson
Faith Nathan gets Australia on the board in the Grand Final of SVNS Madrid

The Women's Rugby Sevens Olympics squad has been confirmed for the Paris Games as they hunt for their second gold medal in three Olympic appearances.

Captain Charlotte Caslick and Sharni Smale will become three-time Olympians and are the lone surviving members of the historic Rio campaign


“I’m really excited to be heading to a third Olympics and cannot wait to play alongside these girls,” Caslick said.

“We’ve worked really hard to get to this point where we are chasing a gold medal.

“I’ve loved every moment of being able to lead these players and we're in a good place to play well.

“Paris is an incredible city that will bring the best out of our players. We can’t wait to get over there.”

There are seven players returning from the campaign in Tokyo in 2021, where the team finished fifth.

Teagan Levi, Bridget Clark, Isabella Nasser, Kaitlin Shave and Bienne Terita will contest at their first Olympics, with Kahli Henwood and Sidney Taylor named as the travelling reserves.

The squad are coming off victory at the HSBC SVNS world series Grand Final in Madrid.

“We have selected a team that knows how to win at big events. Preparations have been detailed, challenging and enjoyable," coach Tim Walsh said.

“We are a process-driven and performance-based team and the journey over the past three years is reason we are ready to perform.

“The team is always first and we would like to thank Rugby Australia and the Australian Olympic Committee for making the Olympic dream a possibility.”

Australian Sevens squad members Demi Hayes, Madison Ashby, Lily Dick and Alysia Lefau-Fakaosilea were unavailable due to knee injuries.

Walsh's side have drawn Ireland, Great Britain and debutants South Africa in their pool, with action to kick off on July 28.


1. Bienne Terita

2. Sharni Smale

3. Faith Nathan

4. Dominique Du Toit

5. Teagan Levi

6. Sariah Paki

7. Charlotte Caslick (c)

8. Kaitlin Shave

9. Tia Hinds

10. Isabella Nasser

11. Maddison Levi

12. Bridget Clark

Reserves: Kahli Henwood and Sidney Taylor


Latest News

Sharni Smale: Australia’s Rugby Warrior to call time on legendary Sevens career
PBs, tears and Rio memories drive retiring Du Toit
'Come a long way': Lawson ready to take second chance at Olympics
Paris Olympic Games 2024: Rugby Sevens Fixtures