Walsh, Caslick lead nominations for AIS Awards

Fri, Nov 18, 2022, 3:33 AM
Nathan Williamson
by Nathan Williamson
The Australian Women's Sevens have stolen a thrilling final in Langford to take the World Series crown.

Sevens co-captain Charlotte Caslick and coach Tim Walsh headlined a host of Rugby nominations at the AIS Sport Performance Awards (ASPAs).

Caslick has cemented her status as one of the best Sevens players in history, helping Australia claim the Triple Crown of the HSBC World Series, Commonwealth Games and Rugby Sevens World Cup.


The 27-year-old, who is also up for World Rugby Sevens Player of the Year, is nominated for Female Player of the Year alongside cricket superstar Alysia Healy, Diamonds captain Liz Watson, moguls gold medalist Jakara Anthony and marathon champion Jessica Stenson (née Trengove).

Caslick is joined by Walsh, nominated for Coach of the Year alongside Wheelchair Rugby head coach Brad Dubberley following their World Championship success.

Both the Sevens and Wheelchair Rugby teams are up for Team of the Year, joined by the Hockeyroos and the Australian Women’s Cricket Team.

The Wheelchair Rugby Program was also nominated for Program of the Year, whilst three-time Paralympic medallist Ryley Batt is up for Male Para-athlete of the Year.

Along with this, Maddison Levi has been included on the shortlist for Emerging Athlete of the Year, with the winners set to be announced December 15

“The ASPAs is a true celebration of Australian high performance sport and the fact we have more than 20 different sports represented across the award categories is a reminder of how many wonderful moments we’ve experienced this year,” Australian Sports Commission CEO Kieren Perkins said in a statement.

“We were privileged to start 2022 by cheering on our Winter Olympians and Paralympians in Beijing, while only a few months ago the nation was inspired by Australia topping the medal tally at the Birmingham Commonwealth Games.

“I want to thank the sports who have nominated these performances and also our judging panel, including representatives from the Australian Olympic Committee, Paralympics Australia and Commonwealth Games Australia.”

“It has been a brilliant way to kick-start our green and gold decade towards Brisbane 2032 and I look forward to celebrating with all our finalists and friends across sport next month."

2022 ASPA Finalists:

Female Athlete of the Year

Alyssa Healy, Cricket Australia

Charlotte Caslick, Rugby Australia

Jakara Anthony OAM, Olympic Winter Institute of Australia

Jessica Stenson, Athletics Australia

Liz Watson, Netball Australia

Female Para-athlete of the Year

Emily Petricola, AusCycling

Jessica Gallagher, Rowing Australia

Katja Dedekind, Swimming Australia

Qian Yang, Table Tennis Australia

Male Athlete of the Year

Cam Smith, Golf Australia

Kieran Woolley, Skate Australia

Scott James, Olympic Winter Institute of Australia

Zac Stubblety-Cook, Swimming Australia

Male Para-athlete of the Year

Ben Tudhope, Snow Australia

Col Pearse, Swimming Australia

Ryley Batt, Wheelchair Rugby/Paralympics Australia

Tim Hodge, Swimming Australia

Coach of the Year

Alexander Stewart, Athletics Australia

Brad Dubberley, Wheelchair Rugby/Paralympics Australia

Peter McNiel and Kate Blamey, Olympic Winter Institute of Australia

Tim Walsh, Rugby Australia

Emerging Athlete of the Year

Donnell Wallam, Netball Australia

Maddison Levi, Rugby Australia

Nina Kennedy, Athletics Australia

Valentino Guseli, Olympic Winter Institute of Australia

High Performance Program of the Year

Athletics Australia

Olympic Winter Institute of Australia

The Australian Dolphins, Swimming Australia

Wheelchair Rugby, Paralympics Australia

Award for Leadership

Andrew Faichney, Athletics Australia

Ben Houston, Australian Sailing

Jaime Fernandez, Rowing Australia

Petria Thomas, Commonwealth Games Australia

Team of the Year

Australian Steelers Wheelchair Rugby Team/Paralympics Australia

Australian Women’s Cricket Team, Cricket Australia

Hockeyroos, Hockey Australia

Women's Rugby 7s, Rugby Australia

Community Engagement Award

Caitlin Ward, AusCycling

Carol Cooke, AusCycling

Kyle Vander-Kuyp, Athletics Australia

Rhydian Cowley, Athletics Australia

Win Well Award

Athletics Australia

Golf Australia

Olympic Winter Institute of Australia

Victorian Institute of Sport

Sport Volunteer of the Year Award

Nicole Williams, Cricket  Australia

Amanda Bowman, Golf Australia

Tea-Rose Passon, Surf Life Saving Australia

Theodora Niakolas, Special Olympics Australia


Latest News

Australian Sevens sides confirmed for Dubai, Cape Town
Faith Nathan re-signs with Australian Sevens
Maroubra over Monaco: The killer mindset driving the Australian Sevens to further heights
Caslick, Koroibete honoured at World Rugby Awards

Aussie 7s are proud part of Rugby AU

© 2021 Rugby Australia. All rights reserved. Part of the Rugby Network