Log in

UPDATE: New Zealand ruled out of Spain legs as World Series heads to Malaga

Thu, 13/01/2022, 7:42 pm
Nathan Williamson
by Nathan Williamson
Australia faced off against New Zealand at day three of the Oceania Sevens at Queensland Country Bank Stadium.

World Rugby has confirmed New Zealand's Sevens side will not travel to Spain for round three and four of the World Series, denying a match-up with Australia's men side.

John Manenti's side were originally been drawn alongside the Kiwis in Pool B in Malaga, however, border controls have prevented them from making the trip.

Catch all the World Series action on World Rugby's digital channels. Click here to access

Instead, the Australians will kick off the tournament against late entry Germany on Friday 21st January (10:28 pm AEDT)

This will be followed with games against Japan (Saturday 3:12 am) and Ireland (Saturday 10:33 pm).

Meanwhile, defending gold medalists Fiji and Dubai champions South Africa headline a strong Pool A along with England and Scotland as they return to their individual nations following playing the Dubai legs as Great Britain.

Hosts Spain will take on USA, Samoa and Argentina in Pool C whilst Kenya, Wales, France and Canada round off the group action as part of Pool D.


MORAHAN MAGIC: Morahan guides Bristol to victory

WARATAHS: Five things to watch in 2022

RELAUCHING: Japanese league out to impress

As for the women, the top-ranked Aussies have been drawn in Pool A as they look to continue their strong start to the World Series.

They will open their tournament against replacement side Belgium on Friday January 21 (8:50 pm AEDT) before facing Ireland (Saturday 5:35 AM) to round out the day.

This will be followed by facing hosts Spain (8:50 pm) as they look to continue their strong start to the season after two straight titles in December.

Dubai finalists Fiji, USA, Poland and Canada will make up Pool B whilst Tokyo silver medalists France will take on England, Brazil and Russia in Pool C.


*All times AEDT


Friday 21st January - Australia v Germany (10:28 pm)

Saturday 22nd January - Australia v Japan (3:12 am)

Saturday 22nd January - Australia v Ireland (10:33 pm)


Friday 21st January - Australia v Belgium (10:50 pm)

Saturday 22nd January - Australia v Ireland (5:35 am)

Saturday 22nd January - Australia v Spain (10:50 pm)


Latest News

Australia Sevens produce promising results in Oceania Super Sevens
Australian Sevens embracing Oceania Sevens challenge
Henry Hutchison: Making history on and off the field
Walsh ready for next challenge after World Series heroics

Aussie 7s are proud part of Rugby AU

© 2021 Rugby Australia. All rights reserved. Part of the Rugby Network