Log in

Australian Men's Sevens confirm unchanged line-up for London

Fri, 27/05/2022, 3:49 am
Nathan Williamson
by Nathan Williamson
All the best Aussie 7s moments from Toulouse.

Australian Men's Sevens coach John Manenti has confirmed an unchanged line-up for this weekend's event in London.

Manenti has kept the faith from Toulouse, where the team made the quarter-finals before falling to host nations France.

Catch all the action of the World Series LIVE on Kayo and BEIN Sports

This includes speedster Corey Toole, who was named in the Toulouse Dream Team as he maintains top spot on the DHL Impact Player of the Year award.

He is joined by leading point-scorer Dietrich Roache, who has amounted 251 points across the seven legs.

The side is once again led by Nick Malouf as they push for the 2021-22 World Series title.

They currently sit in third, eight points behind new leaders Argentina and South Africa, having closed the gap after the Blitzboks missed the knockout stages last week.

Australia will open the tournament with a blockbuster match-up against New Zealand on May 28 (6:10 pm).

The Aussies stunned New Zealand last week, with a Hutchison double powering them to a 29-14 victory.

It ensured the All Blacks Sevens' elimination from the group stages for the first time in program history.

The Australians will get their own chance at revenge when they then face France (9:16 pm).

The French were too strong on home soil, snatching the 21-19 thanks to a try to William Iraguha.

They will conclude their group stage matches against Canada (Sunday 12:46 am).

Australia have won all three match-ups in the 21-22 Series, including a 26-10 victory in Vancouver a month ago.

All games across the tournament will be LIVE on BeIN and Kayo Sports.

Australian Men's Sevens Side for London

  1. Henry Hutchison, Randwick, 39 caps
  2. Ben Dowling, Randwick, 5 caps
  3. Corey Toole, Gungahlin Eagles, 7 caps
  4. Dietrich Roache, Western Sydney Two Blues, 7 caps
  5. Max Burey, Northern Suburbs, 1 cap
  6. Henry Paterson, Eastern Suburbs, 7 caps
  7. Josh Turner, Manly Marlins, 12 caps
  8. Matthew Gonzalez, Eastwood, 3 caps
  9. Stuart Dunbar, Sydney Uni, 7 caps
  10. Nick Malouf, University of Queensland, 45 caps
  11. Maurice Longbottom, Lloyd McDermott Rugby Development Team, 26 caps
  12. Nathan Lawson, Southern Districts, 4 caps
  13. Ben Marr, Warringah, 3 caps

Australian Men’s Sevens Pool C Fixtures:

Saturday 28 May

Australia v New Zealand, 6:10 pm AEST 

Australia v France, 9:16 pm AEST

Saturday 29 May

Australia v Canada, 12:46 am AEST


Latest News

Australia Sevens produce promising results in Oceania Super Sevens
Australian Sevens embracing Oceania Sevens challenge
Henry Hutchison: Making history on and off the field
Walsh ready for next challenge after World Series heroics

Aussie 7s are proud part of Rugby AU

© 2021 Rugby Australia. All rights reserved. Part of the Rugby Network